July 12th, 2014

Lars

Life after 7-1: what happens to footballers after a defeat like Brazil's?


Crushing defeat … Brazil's Moacir Barbosa lets in Uruguay's winning goal in the1950 World Cup. Photograph: Popperfoto

Next week the players who represented Brazil at this year's World Cup will go on holiday and remember being successes. Born poor boys in most cases, they have become, in every case, extremely rich and envied men. None was universally liked before Tuesday – no footballer quite transcends his tribe – but they could count on the affection of a few million people at least, which is a few million more than most of us can say. And all those millions required was to watch them do their best. Victory could be dreamed of, but everybody knew it would be hard to realise withoutNeymar or Thiago Silva. As it turned out, the world, Brazil and the players themselves all discovered that their worst was worse than expected.

So next week, on their private beaches, the players will wonder what kind of punishment awaits a Brazilian who has exposed his nation to ridicule and ignominy on a day when the world had gathered to watch them showing off. And the worst thing is, straight after wondering, they'll know.

Collapse )

SOURCE


This is a long article but IMO, it is a must read. Gives us a great insight into the darker side of a footballer's life.
Poldi smile

World Cup 2014, BRAZIL -- NETHERLANDS

AKA the (dis)consolation game. Third place for the winner and fourth place for the loser.

Brazil v Netherlands for 3rd place photo BRAvNED_zps1cbc9e35.jpg

16:00 EDT/21:00 BST/22:00 CET/17:00 BRT
BRAZIL -- NETHERLANDS
Estadio Nacional de Brasilia, Brasilia
On ESPN in the USA

LINE-UPS:
Brazil: César, Maicon, Silva, Luiz, Maxwell, Gustavo, Paulinho, Ramires, Oscar, Willian, Jô. Subs: Jefferson, Victor, Dani Alves, Fernandinho, Marcelo, Hulk, Fred, Dante, Henrique, Hernanes, Bernard.

Holland: Cillessen; Kuyt, De Vrij, Vlaar, Martins Indi, Blind; Clasie, Wijnaldum, Sneijder; Robben, Van Persie. Subs: Vorm, Krul, Janmaat, De Guzman, Verhaegh, Veltman, Kongolo, Lens, Huntelaar, Memphis.

Referee: Djamel Haimoudi (#ALG)

A World Cup calendar with dates, times, places and results
ATDHE
RojaDirecta
First Row
VIP Box
Ilemi
Live Sports Bar
SportLemon
World Clock & Time Zones