March 29th, 2011

FB: Sergio Worth It

ready for another round of internationals?

Photobucket
QUALIFIERS

16:30BST/17:30CEST/12:30EDT

Group I Czech Republic v Liechtenstein

17:05BST/18:05CEST/13:05EDT
Group F Israel v Georgia

18:00BST/19:00CEST/13:00EDT 
Group E Sweden v Moldova

18:30BST/19:30CEST/13:30EDT 
Group A Turkey v Austria

18:45BST/19:45CEST/13:45EDT 
Group D Romania v Luxembourg

19:30BST/20:30CEST/14:30EDT
Group C Estonia v Serbia
Group E Holland v Hungary

19:45BST/20:45CEST/14:45EDT
 Group A Belgium v Azerbaijan
  Group C Northern Ireland v Slovenia
Group I Lithuania v Spain

Photobucket
QUALIFIERS

14:00BST/15:00CEST/09:00EDT
Group 1 Cyprus v San Marino

15:00BST/16:00CEST/10:00EDT
Group 3 Andorra U21 v Wales

Photobucket
 
FRIENDLIES

12:30BST/13:30CEST/07:30EDT
China v Honduras
13:30BST/14:30CEST/08:30EDT
Jordan v Korea DPR
14:00BST/15:00CEST/09:00EDT
Equatorial Guinea v Gambia
16:00BST/17:00CEST/11:00EDT
Belarus v Canada
Oman v Tunisia
16:30BST/17:30CEST/11:30EDT
Qatar v Russia
17:00BST/18:00CEST/12:00EDT
Peru v Ecuador
17:30BST/18:30CEST/12:30EDT
Iraq v Kuwait
18:00BST/19:00CEST/13:00EDT
Cameroon v Gabon
Cyprus v Bulgaria
19:00BST/20:00CEST/14:00EDT
Nigeria v Kenya
19:15BST/20:15CEST/14:15EDT
Slovakia v Denmark
19:30BST/20:30CEST/14:30EDT
Greece v Poland
19:45BST/20:45CEST/14:45EDT
Chile v Colombia
Germany v Australia
Rep. of Ireland v Uruguay
Ukraine v Italy
20:00BST/21:00CEST/15:00EDT
England v Ghana
France v Croatia
20:30BST/21:30CEST/15:30EDT
Cuba v Panama
20:45BST/21:45CEST/15:45EDT
Portugal v Finland

Photobucket
FRIENDLIES

13:30BST/14:30CEST/08:30EDT
Serbia v Ukraine
15:00BST/16:00CEST/10:00EDT
Qatar U21 v Switzerland
Romania v Georgia
Russia v Azerbaijan
15:45BST/16:45CEST/10:45EDT
Czech Republic v France
16:45BST/17:45CEST/11:45EDT
Austria v Norway
17:00BST/18:00CEST/12:00EDT
Germany v Italy
Luxembourg v Estonia
Montenegro U21 v Rep. of Macedonia


Photobucket

EDIT: NEW POST FOR THE OTHER GAMES THIS EVENING IS HERE

pri·vate (prvt) adj. a. Of or confined to the individual; personal: a private joke; private opinion

England manager Fabio Capello has spoken to Liverpool striker Andy Carroll about his use of alcohol.



The 22-year-old forward, who joined Liverpool during the January transfer window for £35m, will win his second England cap against Ghana on Tuesday.

"Not only Andy likes to drink beer," said Capello, ahead of the Wembley friendly against the Black Stars. "He needs to improve, to drink less.

"I spoke with him, in private. He's young - his behaviour is important."

Capello's warning is reminiscent of former England manager Graham Taylor speaking about Paul Gascoigne's "refuelling" in 1993.

Before joining Liverpool, Carroll experienced a number of off-field problems at Newcastle United.

"He needs to be careful at every moment because when you play with the England national team you are the focus of the fans, the newspapers, the photographers, the people that live around him," added Capello.

Carroll, who made his debut for England in November, has only just started playing for Liverpool following a lengthy absence due to a thigh injury, but Capello maintained no deal had been struck with the Anfield club over how long the striker should be involved for.

"Absolutely no-one has rung me and we have not spoken with Liverpool," said Capello.

"He needs to play. Liverpool will be happy for him to play. It is a friendly and he can play up to half-time, or more. For this reason, the game is important for him and for me."

news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/9439175.stm
unf

Anton Hysén: 'Anyone afraid of coming out should give me a call'

Top-flight world football has no openly gay players, except one – Swedish midfielder Anton Hysén. So why did he make the move, and what has been the reaction?


Anton Hysén looks every inch the modern footballer. The 20-year-old Swede has his initials tattooed behind one ear and his parents' names on each forearm. On his left arm, in particularly elaborate lettering, is: "UNWA". This is Hysén's tribute to Liverpool, his birthplace, and the terrace anthem of his favourite club – You'll Never Walk Alone.
 
Collapse )

Manchester United Announce 2011 US Summer Tour




United confirm USA tour

Manchester United will return to the USA in July for this summer's pre-season tour. The Reds will play five matches - three against MLS clubs in Boston, Seattle and Chicago, a meeting with the MLS All-Stars in New Jersey and finally a clash with Spanish giants Barcelona in Washington DC.

Sir Alex Ferguson's men kick-off the tour on 13 July against New England Revolution at the Gillette Stadium in Boston. Seven days later United face Seattle Sounders FC at Qwest Field and then head to Chicago to meet Chicago Fire at Soldier Field on 23 July.

Next stop is New Jersey, where United will become the first side to play the MLS All-Stars team in successive years. Last July the Reds ran out 5-2 winners in Houston and Sir Alex has said he hopes for a similar result this summer when his side walk out at Red Bull Arena on 27 July.

The tour finishes on 30 July with a mouth-watering clash against Barcelona at the 91,000-capacity FedExField in Washington DC.

Collapse )
porto1

New President of Sporting Club de Portugal + Selecção spam


Godinho Lopes voted new Sporting president in disputed election


Bruno de Carvalho calls for rerun



Amid dramatic, bad-tempered and chaotic scenes – in keeping with the rest of Sporting’s season – Luis Godinho Lopes emerged as the winner of the Lisbon club’s presidential election on Sunday morning.  Lopes obtained 36.55% of the vote, just pipping the pre-election favourite to win the ballot, Bruno de Carvalho, whose candidacy obtained 36.15%.
 
So confident were Bruno de Carvalho’s supporters of victory in the election, especially as sketchy news through Saturday night suggested he was leading in the votes, that when the official result was eventually announced at 6.00am on Sunday morning it was largely only Carvalho’s supporters who were in attendance outside the Alvalade Stadium.
 
Collapse )
source

----------

Now on for the picspam of  training before the Portugal - Chile match, the match itself and the training in preparation vs the Finland friendly. Some of the photos I got from tumblr sources 1 and 2 - so thanks a lot to them.



Collapse )

Wishlist for the Finland friendly later: Ventura gets to play at least in the 2nd half, for Bento to try using Andre Santos with Moutinho and Meireles

Random but Porto fans... Falcao and Guarin scored for Colombia vs Ecuador last week ;)