February 18th, 2011

Warm tone butterfly (by fruitpunch_it)

TV rights and football: EU courts rule in favour of allowing whole tournaments on free-to-air

Fifa and Uefa have failed in a bid to force the British government to scrap legislation that reserves the whole of the World Cup and European Championship for free‑to‑air television. (Not free; I pay  my bloody licence fee so)

The governing bodies had wanted the freedom to sell certain matches within the tournaments to the highest bidder and have long argued that not all games can be considered to be "events of major importance for the public". They challenged legislation in Britain and Belgium that reserves both tournaments – the rights to which are major money-spinners – for free-to-air broadcasters. In the UK, the BBC and ITV have tended to share the rights.

 

Collapse )

 

legends utd

Ryan Giggs signs contract extension, will play forever.

Ryan Giggs signs new Manchester United contract

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

 from the BBC - 

"Veteran Welsh winger Ryan Giggs has signed a one-year contract extension at Manchester United.
It means the 37-year-old will take his time at Old Trafford into a remarkable 21st year, having made his club debut as a substitute on 2 March, 1991.
 
And having already played 24 times for United this season, Giggs says he still has much to contribute to the team.

"It is great to know I'm contributing to the team's success. I feel I've still got a lot to offer," he said.


"All I've ever wanted to do is play for United and I've been lucky enough to do that for 20 years.
"This is an exciting time to be involved with so many good young players coming through."


Giggs has made more than 850 appearances for the club and recently played his 600th Premier League game.

"You run out of words to describe Ryan Giggs," said Sir Alex Ferguson.

"He is a marvellous player and a wonderful man.

"To have the desire and the ability to play at the top level in such a physically demanding position at his age requires a special person.

"He is still turning in man-of-the-match performances and his experience is so vital for the younger players in the squad."  

Giggs' incredible haul of 32 winners' medals includes 11 Premier League and two Champions League titles.  

source: news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/9401933.stm

Oh... So He's Not Joking...?

 

 
Multiple Articles have been discussing Grant Wahl's "supposed" bid for FIFA elections and now the man himself has come out with an interview saying "Well this isn't a total joke" :


While his chances of even getting a vote seem little to none as he states, if the possibility ever arises, Grant Wahl says "If I'm elected, I'd love to serve!"
Man is serious! ... well at least about Change!

If you do not do so already and would like continued updating on this amusing and interesting issue, like the Grant Wahl FB page:
http://www.facebook.com/#!/SIGrantWahl 

And of course, if you wish, you can always sign the petition to try and get him elected as well:
http://twitition.com/mvj5v
  
 
Avengers

Tomorrow Begins...

 Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
The Justin Campaign's second annual Football v Homophobia Initiative starts tomorrow February 19 and has events running until February 27.  Events are scheduled to take place in many countries across the globe, including the UK, Spain, USA, Netherlands, and Ukraine.  To help support the Football v Homophobia Initiative please spread word about it on twitter, lj, facebook, tumblr, or any other way you can and if possible attend one of the wonderful events planned.  On twitter please use #footballvhomophobia when tweeting about matches this weekend.  
Events...
Collapse )

I wish I could get to one of these events, esp the Kick it Out panel in Manchester...
FB: Sergio Worth It

Friday Football

Photobucket

19:30GMT/20:30CET/14:30EST
Nurnberg v Eintracht Frankfurt

Photobucket
19:45GMT/20:45CET/14:45EST
Lyon v Nancy

leagues

20:15GMT/21:15CET/15:15EST
Uniao Leiria v Vitoria Guimaraes

Photobucket
22:00GMT/23:00CET/17:00EST
Gimnasia La Plata v Olimpo

00:10GMT/01:10CET/19:10EST
Banfield v Colon

Photobucket

02:10GMT/03:10CET/21:10EST
U.A.G. (Tecos) v Atlante

02:30GMT/03:30CET/21:30EST
San Luis v U.N.A.M. (Pumas)

streams:
firstrowsports rojadirecta atdhe LiveFootballTVs footballstreaming myp2
 

Photobucket
irishlaa

you don't know who you're messing with

RONALDO WILL START LEGAL ACTIONS AGAINST PAPARAZZIS FOR CONTROVERSIAL PHOTO



Former striker Ronaldo, who announced his retirement from football last Monday, informed today he'll start legal actions against the people responsible for publishing some pictures in which he's shown inside his house in Sao Paulo smoking.

"I've always respected the press and I always tried to be helpful. But this time they've gone too far, climbing a wall to take pictures of me inside my house. I'll start legal actions," he affirmed in a message on Twitter.

Said pictures were taken during a party thrown by Ronaldo on Thursday evening, to honour the Brazilian kickboxer Anderson Silva. At the party were also present many artists and football players, among them Ronaldo's former teammate at Corinthians Roberto Carlos, who recently signed for Anzhi Makhachkala, and who was also caught smoking.

source
FB: B!W Guti

He always brings the lulz

WANTED

A new presenter for your Spanish radio shows about sports ... they will be commentating on football so should be ideally cool, calm, collected and unbiased in their reporting.

Who would you hire?

If you said Guti, then congrats you think exactly the same way as the people in charge of hiring commentators for Cadena SR's 'Carrusel Deportivo' and 'El Larguero' programmes. As of today, Guti is officially a commentator in his spare time

Photobucket


awesomesauce

So, who else is excited at the prospect of having Guti commentating and who can't wait to tune in to hear his unbiased reporting style? XD