November 16th, 2010

today isn't just any day.

22:00 hs GMT

RIVER: Juan Pablo Carrizo; Paulo Ferrari, Adalberto Román, Alexis Ferrero, Jonatan Maidana; Roberto Pereyra, Walter Acevedo, Matías Almeyda, Erik Lamela; Ariel Ortega, Mariano Pavone.
Coach: Juan José López

BOCA: Javier García; Christian Cellay, Matías Caruzzo, Juan Manuel Insaurralde, Clemente Rodríguez; Jesús Méndez, Sebastián Battaglia, Matías Giménez; Juan Román Riquelme; Pablo Mouche, Martín Palermo.
Coach: Claudio Borghi

Featuring the return of AMAZING AND FLAWLESS AND POWERFUL AND INCREDIBLE MATÍAS ALMEYDA ♥. Oh, and the return of GK Javier García to Boca's line up since Luchetti argued with coach Borghi and was left out.

Also, Paul McCartney is going to be at the stadium watching it.


The North London Derby is this weekend. Here is an unbiased post.

Nasri: This could be our year
Midfielders Samir Nasri is optimistic it could be Arsenal's turn to win the Barclays Premier League title.

Collapse )

Collapse )

Wilshere withdraws from England squad
Collapse )
  • evridis

Holy fucking crap

Arsenal ace Ramsey sees best friend knifed in the face in bar attack

Arsenal star Aaron Ramsey saw his best friend horrifically slashed in the face as he tried to defend the player from a knife thug.

Rhys Hutcherson, 20, suffered a gruesome 5in gash that just missed his eye and needed 45 stitches.

Yet Rhys, nephew of a police officer, was held for assault while his attacker went free.

The childhood pals were on a night out in Cardiff when bar thugs began taunting the Wales and Arsenal midfielder, 19, for quitting the city’s team in 2008.

Collapse )
this is more than my road to redemption

it's that time of the year again, voting time!


it's time again for choosing the best goal of the year! (copy pasta criteria from fifa's website)

The final list has been drawn up using the following criteria: aesthetics; the importance of the match; the absence of luck or an opposition mistake as a factor making the goal possible; fair play; and the date, with only goals scored between 1 January and 15 October 2010 counting.
the guys who made the final cut being the following:

Hamit ALTINTOP     kazakhstan 0:3 turkey (euro2012 qualifier)
Matthew BURROWS     glentoran 1:0 portadown (carling premiership)
Linus HALLENIUS     hammarby 2:0 syrianska (swedish 2nd division superettan)
Lionel MESSI     fc barcelona 3:0 fc valencia (liga bbva)
Samir NASRI     arsenal 5:0 fc porto (uefa champion's league)
NEYMAR     santo andré 1:2 santos (são paulo state championship)
Arjen ROBBEN     schalke 04 0:1 bayern münchen (dfb pokal)
Siphiwe TSHABALALA     south africa 1:1 mexico (fifa world cup south africa)
Giovanni VAN BRONCKHORST     uruguay 2:3 netherlands (fifa world cup south africa)
Kumi YOKOYAMA     korea dpr 1:2 japan (fifa u-17 women's world cup 2010)

click on respective players name to watch the goal, you can vote directly underneath it. the index page for the award is located right here! haven't watched all yet, but i think you can see i'm very biased ;) which one's your favorite this year, _fb?
  • furyyy

Our Golden Boys

Arsenal midfielder Jack Wilshere , Liverpool attacker Dani Pacheco and Manchester City's Italian striker Mario Balotelli are among the nominees for this year's 'Golden Boy' award.

The poll for the top young player in European football born after 1 January 1989, is organized by Italian daily Tuttosport.  Thirty journalists from top European sporting media will decide which player has performed best over the calendar year.

Wilshere has established himself in the Arsenal team, while controversial figure Balotelli played his part in Inter Milan's treble success last season before securing a big money move to Manchester City.  Liverpool's Dani Pacheco was one of the stars of last summer's European under-19 championship, finishing as the tournament's top scorer. 

Other English-based players in the 40 nominees include Manchester United trio Federico Macheda, Bebe and Rafael, Chelsea's Gael Kakuta and Aston Villa's Nathan Delfouneso.

Past winners of the award include Barcelona's Lionel Messi (2005), Manchester United striker Wayne Rooney (2004) and Arsenal captain Cesc Fabregas (2006).

Although Arsenal star Wilshere has made big strides this year, the favourites for the award are likely to include Anderlecht's star striker Romelu Lukaku and Atletico Madrid goalkeeper David De Gea, who helped his side win the Europa League.  


Collapse )


Manchester United and City Together.

James Milner, Adam Johnson, Tinchy Stryder, Rio Ferdinand, Javier Hernandez, Darron Gibson mark the opening of Nike's first football only store in the world, on Market Street, November 11, 2010 in Manchester, England. The Nike Football Store has been expanded over two floors and is dedicated purely to football, football services and experiences to give fans the very best of Nike Football product.

Collapse )